My Soap-full Journey

I haven’t kept up my promise to blog a day in 2011. But I have taken myself on a journey. A very surprising and interesting journey. I have learned how to make soap and I love it. I am hooked. I have been using essential oils and fragrance oils, and ingredients from my pantry to make my soap smell nice and be more.

I have been studying oils and their properties in soap. How they help the skin, and how they may heal, Jojoba is good for dandruff, Coconut makes a fluffy lather, some say Castor is good for a shampoo bar. Pumpkin is good for Eczema, Tea tree is good for Acne. Olive Oil soap, or Castille soap is good for sensitive skin and babies. Essential oils smells have different impacts as well, Lavender is calming while peppermint can be invigorating. Cinnamon and poppy seeds are exfoliating.

Two very interesting results or miracles I have had are how my skin and hair are reacting to the soap. I have been using a homemade bar of soap on my hair for 3 weeks now, so I no longer use commercially made Shampoo, but a hard bar of homemade cold process soap, and my hair has never ever looked better. It has a nice colour, it is easier to control, and it actually has a bit of a wave to it. Also my acne is under control. For a while it was getting out of control and I looked like a really really old teenager. I have decided it is a great injustice when a person gets wrinkles and zits at the same time. My acne is not gone and it isn’t as miraculous as a Proactive commercial but it is close and I am impressed with the results.

We over here at the Redneck Liber household have been going through a fairly difficult time. Mr. Redneck Liber is out of work. Thankfully we live in a fantastic Country that takes fairly good care of unemployed people (if you qualify and luckily we do). We also are part of a wonderful religion that takes good care of its poor and hard luck families. So we have been blessed but it is still a very stressful time.

Have you ever noticed that when times are stressful all the little issues seem to blow up into huge mountains?  For example, when shoes are left in the middle of the floor and you almost kill yourself going to the bathroom in the middle of the night can make a person under stress homicidal.

I have found soap making to be therapeutic and uplifting.

I also suffer from Seasonal Depression and January and February are usually my worst months but soap making has helped me to control that.  Now when I am overwhelmed or tired, or angry I go downstairs and smell my soap.

Being able to plan and create a batch of soap is so thrilling and exciting. When I think of an idea that might work together I honestly can’t wait to make it. A friend of mine suggested Grapefruit soap, I liked the idea, its in my head, now I have to make it. But first I get to study the different kinds of ways to make the grapefruit smell. Do I use a fragrance oil or an essential oil? What fats/oils should I use? Should I use all vegetable oils or part vegetable part lard?

I have made 112 bars of soap in 2 weeks. Each batch is different, each batch is unique.

I guess I have found a way to control stress and that is to create something. If you are under stress create, create, create.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Soap-full Journey

  1. Megan says:

    Love it Peggy! You should sell your soap!

  2. Emma says:

    So happy for your discoveries. Would really love to see a movie demo if you’re of a mind to make one!

Leave a Reply

