For the Praise of Man

I was having a really great chat with a friend and mentor today. We were talking about pride and motivation and the basics of why people do things.

Which is better, to do a great thing for the praise of man or to do the same great thing but for the praise of he Lord and just for basically doing the great thing?

In another conversation with another friend and mentor we were talking about the Dreamgiver by Bruce Wilkinson. She was saying that if we are willing to give up our dream or cause or purpose because God asks us to and we do then we are not doing it for he praise of man.

Needless to say I have been almost second guessing myself and my motives behind what I am doing. I wonder why do I blog, why do I plan events, why do I call myself the redneck liber, (that is another post yet to be written).

The answer quite honestly is if I don’t, I feel like I am going to explode. Or in terms of the Dreamgiver I feel I will be ignoring my dream and my feather may fade away. (good book you should all read it)

Why do I blog I blog for myself. James Reston said “How can I know what I think until I read what I write” for me that is true. Putting my thoughts into words is very enlightening for me. I like to think I help other people, I may not, but I help myself. It’s cheaper than therapy.

Why do I plan events? Again I would explode if I didn’t.  I like the inspiration and uplift I get by attending events and figured they needed to be closer to home, so I started and now its just a given. I am planning this years Canada Forum like its my last.  Interesting things happen when you plan like this, you either make it your last and have no regrets or when its over you realize you now have to outdo yourself yet again. It keeps the pressure off and the creative juices flowing. I am also learning to rely on the lord and let all the great miracles happen to pull it together. I have great ideas planned for this year you should come. May 2 2009 Lethbridge AB

The redneckliber post will have to wait but the 3 people that read this blog already know the story.

So thanks for letting me figure that out.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in on my mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

