Desmond Tutu

A quote by Desmond Tutu I read the other day and have been mulling it around in my head.

“Forgiving and being reconciled are not about pretending that things are other than they are. It is not patting one another on the back and turning a blind eye to the wrong…Forgiveness…means taking what happened seriously and not minimizing it; drawing out the sting in the memory that threatens to poison our entire existence. It involves trying to understand the perpetrators and so have empathy, to try to stand in their shoes and appreciate the sort of pressures and influences that might have conditioned them”

Desmond Tutu No future without forgiveness

Desmond Tutu sounds like a great man. I will be studying him and his time as the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Chairman.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in on my mind, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Desmond Tutu

  1. artdeme says:

    Peggy! I found you! Last time I checked your blog it said it was removed or something. I must have caught it just as you were switching.
    So glad to see you here, and I will be reading your posts when I get some time.
    Happy New Year!
    xo arlene

Leave a Reply

