Interesting thoughts about nothing

I belong to a few Yahoo groups. They are nice and I learn a lot from them. On one of my Yahoo groups this story is posted on the home page and I love it. I read it all the time. I think the message is beautiful and timely.

“A Rabbi spoke with God about heaven and hell. “I will show you hell,” God said, and they went into a room which had a large pot of stew in the middle. The smell was delicious, but around the pot sat people who were famished and desperate. All were holding spoons with very long handles which reached to the pot, but, because the handles were longer than their arms, it was impossible to get the stew back into their mouths. “Now I will show you heaven,” God said, and they went into an identical room. there was a similar pot of stew, the smell was delicious, and the people had identical spoons, but they were well-nourished and happy. On seeing the Rabbi’s confusion God said “It’s simple. You see, they have learned to feed one another.”

So much happens that you don’t see. According to this story heaven is a place were we feed each other. If we are going to give our food to someone else we need to trust that someone else will give us their food in return. Heaven then in this story is trust, teamwork and giving, as opposed to the selfish, egotistical, and treacherous hell.

If we can’t trust each other, if we can’t “feed” each other then we are basically in hell.

A community of people needs to have trust, love and compromise.

I think this story would make a good object lesson with a debrief. But where oh where do you get super long spoons???

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in life, on my mind, Thomas Jefferson Education. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interesting thoughts about nothing

  1. artofbeingquiet says:

    love this story and your thoughts…thank you for the perspective re-adjustment.

  2. kim says:

    I have heard a story very similar story before, only it was one of those airport security people that make you take off your watch, etc. and walk through one of those portal thingies instead of a rabbi. I heard it from an excellent storyteller named Merle Harris. Another one I’ve heard her tell is one about 2 kings at war with one another until both of them have no men left to fight with. This one actually made me cry.

Leave a Reply

