The Golden Mean and the Misleading Perception of Perfection

I haven’t posted in a while because I have been battling a misleading perception of perfection. As I was studying on the internet the other day I came across an interesting philosophy called “The golden Mean” by Aristotle, or “The Doctrine of The Mean” by Confucius.  The basic gist of this philosophy is that perfection is the middle. To go to one extreme is not perfection and neither is the other extreme. The middle is perfection, balance is perfection. Anarchy and authoritarian are examples of 2 extremes. Liberty lies somewhere in the middle.

The great thing about this philosophy is that it take off the pressure. I was always labouring under the false impression that perfection is being really really good at everything. As I think of it now I think that is just competition instead of perfection.

Perfection was to me someone who is thin, well dressed, has a clean house, good kids (that puts their things away without being asked), bakes cookies in heels and pearls while innoculating children in 3rd world countries, saving beached whales and writing a New York times best seller. Oh and recycles.

As you can tell my perception of perfection was one extreme. Which is interesting because while envisioning that one extreme in reality I was living the other extreme. The overweight, chaotic house, never could find anything to put away, baking had eggshells and dog hair, messy hair and unmatched shoes.

( Aunt Pat I know you are shaking your head at me. She always told me “Balance, Peg find Balance”.  You are as wise as Aristotle and Confucious.)

This will help me a great deal. I will now put my focus on balance instead of extreme.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Golden Mean and the Misleading Perception of Perfection

  1. Christine Grosjean says:

    IIIiinteresting…changes a lot!

Leave a Reply

