It has Begun

We started out schooling adventure for the 2010 -2011 school year. We started yesterday.

My 11 year old daughter is wanting and asking for more. She wants to learn, she is craving learning. I am excited and nervous at the same time. I am excited because it shows the Phases do work, and scared because what if I can’t keep her filled. What if it isn’t good enough? What if I fail her somehow? I think these are the fears of all Parents, Homeschooling and not.

We made a Huge butcher paper Calendar for the school year and she has scheduled a few ideas as to what to study and when this year. We have put on it a topic a week. There are many blank weeks. I told her that is OK because in her studies she will learn something new and maybe want to explore that. I also told reminded that it was not written in stone and that if she wants to change a topic she is more then welcome to. The hope I had with the calendar is that she will not think “Oh what should I study now?” But she can look at the calendar and think  “Oh yeah! I did want to study Canadian Geography” or “Oh Yeah I like World War II history”

This is my hope and I did explain it to her. Also my hope with the big butcher paper calendar was to keep me on track and motivated throughout the year.

I truly find it amazing how much my kids learn even when I am not trying to “school” them. Even when I don’t have planned and organized lessons.

All of them are excited and want “school” to start.  I feel inspired and often times overwhelmed by it. But I am determined to have my best year as the Mom/teacher. I have grown so much in the last 5 years of homeschooling them and learned what does and does not work for our house. Hopefully this year will be the best yet.

If you Home-school what do you use to help you stay organized and on track? Also how do you stay motivated and refreshed?

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in homeschool, on my mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

