The Fires of House Work

Dear Redneck Liber,

I homeschool my 3 lovely children. We enjoy it very much but there is something that I just can’t get over. The Mess. I HATE IT!!! I try to organize closets and things but I can never get the kids to put things away and we are forever running around. How do I find the time to organize my house, educate my children and myself, and stay sane?

I feel like I am constantly putting out little fires while there is a blazing inferno going on.

Yours Sincerely,

Burned Out.

Dear Burned Out,

I hear you. I also have this problem. I wonder is it better to take 3 days and marathon clean or do as fly lady says a little at a time? There are benefits to each one. 3 days and done, but yet tired. Or a little at a time and life can go on.

The other day I went to the dump with a friend and we threw a bunch of old and unwanted items into piles. I tell you it was exhilarating.  Getting rid of junk and throwing it away. We could watch it sail, and crash, and have no problem when it broke. The most fun was the glass recycling she had. I think it should be a new kind of therapy. I believe the Greeks are onto something with smashing dishes to celebrate.

Lets start a new cultural tradition.  We shall take 3 days to clean and declutter. Then we can get together and throw our garbage and unwanted items into a dumpster or second hand bin and yell something like “Opa” or we can come up with a word of our own.

We can release our junk, create a tradition and let the kids run and play.

Sincerely,

Redneck Liber

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

