Christmas Trees and Socks

I was in the house of an acquaintance before Christmas. She has a beautiful home. Everything is very organized, beige and red walls.   Vinyl lettered quotes on the wall, black and white pictures of her kids framed in big over sized black frames. She even made her own marshmallows.  A catalog house as I like to call them. The room was just like one you would find looking through a furniture catalog.

The Christmas tree in the room was beautifully decorated. It had a colour scheme of dark blue and silver, everything on the tree matched. I asked how she does it with kids. How does she have a tree that matches in a house with kids? (As you can see in the picture above my tree looks a little like Christmas got sick and threw up on it. But I had a kitten this year, and well Christmas trees, kittens and toddlers don’t mix very well.)

The answer 2 trees. One in the living room that gets to be pretty and one in the family room for her kids to decorate. I thought about this and thought, that is too much work. I find it a hassle to have even one tree. Not only that my house is too small. Where would I put a second tree? I would also have to learn about colours and how they work together. Taking up, putting down. Trying out strings of lights for 2 trees. I get  a little anxious even thinking about it.

It also made me a little sad. I like to have my tree be about Kids in the home. I like to display the crafts they have made for the tree over the years. I like to look at the ornaments and say “hey remember when you made this?” We have fun every year looking at how we have grown and changed and how cute things were.

To me Christmas is about the kids, the tree, the presents. My tree is a measuring stick to show how much we have grown. I enjoy the eclectic nature of decorations on my tree. I don’t worry that they might make something that might not match the colour decor of the tree.

On the other hand my friend is also very organized. She can find something when you need it. She doesn’t spend minutes trying to find something. She knows right where it is. I on the other hand am 3 cats away from a Hoarders episode.

One Sunday as I got to church I noticed my son wearing a hot pink fuzzy sock on one foot and a purple Disney princess sock on the other.

So maybe there is a balance in there somewhere. Maybe I can teach my friend it is OK to let go and have her kids decorate the main tree, and I can learn to organize enough to have matching socks for my kids on Sunday.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in on my mind, Organization and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Trees and Socks

  1. stacy says:

    3 cats away from a hoarders episode…too funny. Thank you for this post. maybe Hunter is just an artistic genius and the purple fuzzy sock was on purpose?

  2. Sally says:

    Every year when we put the tree up Keith always asks WHY we can’t have a matching decorated trees like in the stores and I tell him to sit down while the grandchildren and I decortate the tree I tell the children the story of each ornament: the angel Papa looked all over that had my real name on it, the angel that he got me my first Christmas, the dove ornament the year Papa found out that doves mate for life, the little house ornaments that represents each house we ever lived in, the cat ornament that represents our cat, the glass ornament that represents Quebec that represents where my family is from, their parents ornaments that THEIR great grandmother made them our first Christmas as a family, the gingerbread men that they made me years ago, and the list goes on.. by the time I am finished Keith usually is trying to nonchalantly wipe his eyes then he doesn’t ask me again. I tell him our tree is a Memory Tree and no amount of matching ornaments will ever be anything more then just that…matching ornaments

Leave a Reply

