Money + Security = Happiness?

I have been doing a lot of thinking about Happiness lately.  What is it? Why do some have it some don’t? Does lack of stress equal happiness?

That last question has me hanging a bit. I honestly don’t have an answer for it. Does lack of stress equal happiness?

I googled how to be happy and found a great report called The happy planet index. They have a criteria that judges the most happy country in the planet. Wealth is not the most important factor. In fact I was surprised to see the most of the countries in the top 10 were in fact underdeveloped countries. The first G20 country is Brazil at #9. The #1 country is Costa Rica.  Canada is #89 out of 143, United States #114.

This is interesting to me. I know we all know the old adage that money does not buy happiness, but this may be proof.

My conclusion Simplicity. I think Simplicity is the key to happiness. This drive to own the best or to be the first may not  be what is causing happiness. I think it causes temporary satisfaction, and that satisfaction can be addictive and mistaken for happiness.

How do we live simpler lives? How to we create a simple happiness? I will explore these ideas.

I don’t have all the answers. Please comment below if you have an idea or comment.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Money + Security = Happiness?

  1. Debi says:

    Money can’t *buy* happiness, but it can rent it for a while…

  2. arlene says:

    Money does not buy happiness, but neither does poverty.

  3. Megan says:

    There is a documentary that talks about this on netflix. They found that money is something that helps people be happy. I think that’s what it said at least. They talked about other things that cause happiness etc. too. Check it out if you have netflix, if you don’t you can just do a one month trial and watch it then cancel.

    P.S. Money would make me happier.

  4. stacy says:

    Peggy, some believe that freeing ourselves from attatchment will bring true peace. I can’t help but think of Peace Pilgrim. All she carried with her was a comb and the clothes on her back. She claimed to be truly happy. All I know is, everytime I get rid of stuff I feel a little bit relieved but then again, there are a few things I got for christmas I am so grateful for and I use them daily. On the other hand, there are a few things we got for Christmas which have complicated our lives a little more…where is the balance?
    Remember how you mentioned that gratitude is the key factor to keep us out of poverty? Maybe that has something to do with attatchments and happiness…?

Leave a Reply

