The Mother Zen and the Toilet Paper roll

Every now and then I think of something funny to write about being a Mom.  I am going to call them the Mother Zen. Hope you enjoy.

p.s. I may have posted this one already if so enjoy again.

Have good trust in yourself — not in the One that you think you should be, but in the One that you are
– Maezumi Roshi

There is an amazing phenomenon going on in my home. I also understand by many of the other mothers I talk to that it happens in many homes. It is almost as epidemic as the H1N1 virus. It is the issue of no one else but you knowing how to change the toilet paper roll. I understand and feel your pain.

You usually notice this as you are hiding from your kids in the bathroom. You look at where the toilet paper roll should be expecting the simpleness of it to be obvious, but alas you must now look around to find the roll of toilet paper.

In Zen there is the philosophy that says:

When the deep meaning of things is not understood the mind’s essential peace is disturbed to no avail.” hsin hsin ming

 

Is it deep meaning to expect someone other than yourself to know how to change the toilet paper roll?

 

I would like to propose a solution. We could make it a big ordeal. They have the changing of the guard ceremony at Buckingham Palace it is a fairly big event. In fact millions of tourist go every year to watch it.

We could call it the Changing of the toilet paper roll. At Buckingham palace it is an almost daily occurrence so why not the changing of the toilet paper roll?

So let’s gather everyone together in the kitchen. Line them up and march them into the bathroom. I think a drum would be a good prop at this time. You could use this as a rhythm teaching lesson. Perhaps red shirts and bear skin hats would also help to make it official.

 

You show them with your best military precision how to take it off, then how to put it back on. March back into the kitchen and done. The whole thing should probably take about 2 minutes or less.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

