The Mother Zen and Shopping

“The wise adapt themselves to circumstances, as water molds itself to the pitcher.”Chinese Proverb

There is one laborious task we as parents must all endure. That is the task of shopping with our children. Some of us have smaller families then others but I believe shopping with children, regardless of how many children you have, sucks.

Children have many tactics which they employ to get you to buy what they want.

There is the whining. ‘Please please please please please”

There is the bargaining “I promise if you buy this for me I will never whine or cry or fight with my brother again”

There is the resistance “Mommy I want it!” with a foot stomp and if they are not in the cart they sit right in the middle of the aisle.

Then my all time favourite the combination of all 3, done at the same time and done in a very loud high pitched voice while crying, “Pleeeeeeese Mommmeee!!! I promise never to fight or whine or cry again! Mommmmmeeeee I WANT it!” with tears, wailing and gnashing of teeth.

In my years of shopping with children I have come to realize you can tell what phase of life a person is in by how they react to you and your screaming child at the store.

The people who have never had children look shocked and appalled. You can hear the thought ooozing out of them “If I had kids I wouldn’t let them act like THAT in public”

The people in the same boat as you look at you sympathetically. Some may even ask to help. They are usually the ones you can look to for support, unless of course they have screaming children with them. In which case you should stop and cry on each others shoulders.

The older generation who have lived through this usually laugh at you.

Which is why as a mother of young children you should never go shopping with your own mother and your children at the same time, as she probably will only laugh at you the whole time because you did this to her. There is a reason grand kids get along so well with their grandparents, they have a common enemy.

Shopping with children can bring even the most hardened and calloused people to their knees. Maybe instead of highway clean up we could have minimum security prisoners shop with children.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Mother Zen and Shopping

  1. Megan says:

    Hahahaha. Too funny….so true!

  2. msiever says:

    Love it 🙂 And yes, so so true.

  3. arlene says:

    You crack me up! LOL I’m at the Grandma phase now and it’s true…I find it hilarious.
    That and telling my 15 year old “Someday, you are going to have a child JUST LIKE YOU!!!” Seeing his niece and nephews makes him realize, I’m not kidding!! Priceless.

Leave a Reply

