Frugal and Fabulous

I have been poor for a long time. I have had some good ideas of frugality. Raising 6 kids on a less then poverty budget is always fun and exciting. I always scoff at the websites that tell you that to tighten your belt you need to sell your second car and cut up your credit cards. I have come to the conclusion that I can not even afford the proverbial belt that needs tightening.

I read an article on Yahoo a few days ago that was showing  proof we are in a recession. One reason was people are waiting at least 5  before updating there computers. My computer is at least 5 years old.  Another one was using everything in a container before throwing it away, again I just thought this was a way of life. Reading blogs and articles on how to be frugal can be quite depressing at times.

I buy my clothes second hand, ALL the time.

I eat the Crusts on my bread ALL the time. In fact I bake my own bread.

My family only owns one car.

We do not own any credit cards.

My computer is old.

But guess what I am still fabulous.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frugal and Fabulous

  1. Beth says:

    I hear ya. I often look for ways to scale back, and laugh at the suggestions. I guess we both do a good job already, if the suggestions don’t even apply? lol!
    I may buy new clothes, but I have never paid more than $5 per item, unless it’s a special occasion. I only shop sales. I’ve found consignment clothes cost more/the same used, than I get them new. I am good like that!
    Also, I cook every night, I make the snacks/treats and so on.

  2. Mary S says:

    You said it! Oh and the admonition to not buy extras…what extras??

    I prefer second hand and only buy things I can’t find second hand (though that’s getting easier…you can find unopened nylons in second hand stores, did you know that? Cool, hey?)

  3. angela M says:

    you are Fabulous!! those sights are no help at all when you don’t even have a pot to piss in… but that is when you look at the things you do have stay as positive as you can and hold your head up high because you are still here and it can always get worse!!! I find your blogs very encouraging thanks 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    If only your garden grew eh. What is the name you have for it again??

    Hope things turn around for you guys soon.

  5. Kim Hunter says:

    totally know what you mean. these same sites also have tips for single women. they all say stuff like “consider taking public transit” or “bring your lunch to work”. well i take the bus all the time, and i usually bring something to work with me, or i eat before i leave. oh yeah and peg, i also eat my crusts, all the time. i mean, come on, sometimes the crust is the best part.

Leave a Reply

