Dedicated to Tanya Marie DeVries Akey

I had a friend.

At one point in my life she was my best friend.  A horrible thing happened and she was killed in a car crash on Friday April 8 2011. She was only 32 years old. She had 2 children, one of whom isn’t even 2 years old yet. Her husband is now a widower.

I feel a huge hole in my heart. I feel like the universe is no longer in balance. I feel like the world isn’t quite whole anymore.  A huge gap  where someone should be. It is a very unsettling feeling. I am also a little bit angry.

Her family is saying their final good byes to her today. I am unable to go to the funeral as it is on the other side of the country from where I am. But yet my thoughts are with them.

I can imagine the sadness, the tears, the grieving over this sad situation.

Enter my faith. I believe in life after death. I believe we will all live again. I know Tanya is OK. I know she will still be able to watch over her little tribe from across the veil. I know I will see her again.

In our last General Conference Russell M. Nelson said “We live so we can die so we can live again” I believe his words and they brought me great comfort.

She was my friend during a trying time in my life. Adolescence. We were both on the underside of acceptance and cool. But when either bullied or outcasted we had each other.

We spent hours together, giggling, playing, dreaming. We shared our first loves with each other and our first heart breaks. We dreamed of life as adults and I think we were both horribly wrong.

Today I say good bye to a piece of my childhood as others say good bye to their daughter, sister, wife and mother.

Dear Tanya,

Rest in peace.

See you on the other side.

All my love,

Peggy

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dedicated to Tanya Marie DeVries Akey

  1. Susan says:

    Beautiful tribute, Peggy.

  2. Lisa says:

    Beautiful. She will miss you as well.

  3. Mary S says:

    Peggy, what a lovely tribute and my prayers are with you and her family. So sad, so young.

  4. Bev says:

    Dear Peggy – thank you for sharing your wonderful tribute to your friend Tanya. Thank you for posting a picture of her for those of us that may only know her by sight and not by name. I actually goggled this so that I could see her face and I also see a loving and kind spirit in that familiar face. What a tragedy – in a split second all of life changed. I will take something from this terrible loss and that is a greater appreciation of each moment that God blesses me with. I will not waste those precious moments with resentments, jealousy or distain but instead gather those that I love closer to me, cherish the moments and make memories. Hugs Peggy from an Island girl.

Leave a Reply

