How to make ointment

I have been dabbling in the world of ointment making. I love it and am having a blast. If you know me you have probably received an ointment of some sort from me. Hubby is getting frustrated because it is costing us money but I am having so much fun. I need to find a way to make it pay for itself but until then….

#1 Gather the materials

My infused oils. Today I used an oil that had Comfrey, Yarrow, Mullein, Chickweed, and Plantain infused in Extra Virgin Olive Oil. My counter has at least 7 different jars of herbs infusing in oil.

Beeswax. I am showing 2 different types here. The one on the left is Beeswax pellets they are easier to work with as you don’t need to grate them. The one on the right is a block of beeswax I got from a bee farmer, cheaper but you have to grate it.

#2 I add 1/2 cup of oil and 2 Tbsp of beeswax to a double boiler. (I don’t own a double boiler so I put one pot on top of a another pot full of water, I don’t have a picture because we had spaghetti for supper and both pots are dirty, but hey now you know what to get me for Christmas hint hint….)

Wait until the beeswax is melted. I stir it occasionally. It doesn’t take long for the beeswax to melt.

#3 Then for the hardest part pouring the ointment into a container of your choosing.

The other day I made an ointment form herbs I got from Learningherbs.com

The tin is cute and I like the label stickers.

Today I poured my ointment into lap balm tubes

It was harder then pouring into the tin. I tried a syringe but the ointment hardened at the tip before I filled more than 2 tubes. So not the best idea….. big mess……

So now I need to come up with my own clever labels. That will be tomorrows assignment.

But each of my kids can carry a tube in their pockets. My son gets welts from mosquito bites so this should help.

My oldest daughter is going on a young womens camp next week and she will have a tube with her. It is good for scratches,  simple burns, bug bites, bruises and cuts. Minor first aid injuries.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Friday How to, Herbs, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to make ointment

  1. Kim Hunter says:

    why not use a funnel when you want to pour your balm into tubes? they’re a good investment, since you can use them for other things

Leave a Reply

