Tightwad Tuesday Tip: Joining The Poo Free Movement

“Hi my name  is Peggy.”

“Hi Peggy”

“I have been shampoo free for 6 months.”

Applause

I really have been I stopped using commercial shampoo on my hair when I started making my own soap. So I am still using soap. There are people who switch to only rinsing with water or using Baking Soda. I am not that brave yet…..

I make my own Shampoo bars. The only real difference is the oils used, and the amount. In a Shampoo bar the General rule is to use  8% Castor Oil. It makes it nourishing conditioning and lather’s really well.

How to use a bar to wash your hair:

1. Get hair wet

2. Rub the bar right on your head, work up a good lather

3. Rinse and repeat

I usually lather 3 times and rinse 3 times. I then follow with a vinegar rinse. I put 2 cups of water and 1/4 cup of vinegar in a jar, I leave on the side of the tub, and rinse my hair with it after I use the soap. Some people say to use Apple Cider Vinegar and that is good too but I use just plain old white vinegar and have not had a problem.

I did have a slight adjustment period where my hair was greasier than normal but this only lasted a few days. I have been reading and this adjustment period happens because when we wash our hair with shampoos it strips our hair of all the natural oils and our hair goes into oil production over drive. So when we stop the cycle it takes a few days for our hair to catch on and stop making so much oil. Like nursing a baby.

My hair tangles less, is bouncier, and more manageable.

I save money by not buying expensive hair products, and conserve water by not washing my hair everyday. I can go 3 days between washings.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Tightwad Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tightwad Tuesday Tip: Joining The Poo Free Movement

  1. arlene says:

    You groovy hippy you!!
    I’ve been wanting to try making a shampoo bar. You have officially inspired me.

Leave a Reply

