Exchanging perfection for integrity.

I have decided to admit that I fight depression. I am embracing it whole heartedly, and I feel Ok about it. I have been trying this mind over matter thing and the choose to be happy routine and it works, a bit, but it usually just turns into another stick to beat myself up with.

So since denying it hasn’t worked, hopefully the whole admittance thing will help, like in the 12 step program.

  • Step 1We admitted we were powerless over our addiction – that our lives had become unmanageable

I think I was addicted to trying to be perfect. I can’t be perfect I am not perfect. Therefore I can only be the best I can be.

I am also learning very painfully my limits. Things I need to say no to. I had a great quote sent to me today through email, and you know how I love quotes. It said

“Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity.”

W. Clement Stone
1902-2002, Businessman, Philanthropist and Author

So today I again decide to live my life with integrity instead of perfection. That way when I am low and things look dark, instead of beating myself up with the “you are so not perfect” stick, perhaps I can take a step up on the “integrity” ladder.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in life, on my mind, quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exchanging perfection for integrity.

  1. Mary Siever says:

    Good way to be Peggy, Integrity is more important than perfection.

Leave a Reply

