Motherhood: The very essence of Servant Leadership.

So I have been reading. I know I know…The house honestly is a disaster. We are down 2 bedrooms, and have 3 kids sleeping in the family room. That being said, I have decluttered much, and cleaned my room yesterday.

But a book, a book is calling me. Actually it is singing to me. I don’t think that has ever happened to me before. It is odd I will admit. The book you ask Servant Leadership: A journey into the nature of legitimate power and greatness. By Robert K Greenleaf.

This is a powerful book. I have so far read only 15 of 334 pages and I am amazed and edified. I am cheating though as I have studied about Greenleaf before and have already read a few of his essays. It is so nice to be inspired again. It is so nice to feel motivated and to want to do again.

I am comparing servant leadership to motherhood because that is what I know right now. Motherhood is my life right now. I often find mothers in my travels that feel they can’t be leaders in their community because they are to busy serving their families. Some feel bad and guilty because they think they should be doing more. I want them all to know they are doing perfectly.

“The best test, and difficult to administer, is: Do those served grow as persons? Do they, while being served,become healthier, wiser, freer, more autonomous, more likely themselves to become servants? And what is the effect on the least privileged in society; will they benefit, or, at least, not be further deprived?” Robert K Greenleaf

This is Motherhood. Those we serve are growing as people, they are becoming healthier, wiser and freer. I love this quote. It gives me goose bumps.

He defines leadership in a beautiful way as well.

“The very essence of leadership, going out ahead to show the way,…A leader says: “I will go follow me”, while knowing the path is uncertain, even dangerous” Robert K Greenleaf

This made me think of motherhood and how we are always saying, verbally or non verbally, “I will go follow me” And we know the path is uncertain and often dangerous.

We serve, we lead, and our children follow.

The question I am left to ask myself then is “Where am I going?”

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Motherhood: The very essence of Servant Leadership.

  1. Cat Charissage says:

    I’m sorry to be presumptuous, but I know exactly where you’re going: to goodness, to God.

  2. Mary Siever says:

    Peggy, oh maybe I needed to hear this and maybe I should read the book (I have it). I don’t know that I am a very good servant leader. I think Cat is right. At least I hope she is.

    • redneckliber says:

      Mary I think you are the very definition of the word Servant Leadership!

      • Mary Siever says:

        Peggy,

        Oh you are sweet but your opinion of me is just too high 😛 Maybe cranky servant leadership, lol. I would say YOU are! You always manage to put a positive spin on everything, very inspirational. Truly.

Leave a Reply

