Tightwad Tuesday Tip: Menu Planning

Now that it is really Tuesday and not that fake Tuesday we had on Friday; I will give you a tip.

As I enter into the unknown abyss, that is homeschooling 6 kids this year, I am thinking menu planning shall be my ally. I have done it before and enjoyed the stress free 4pm question that is “OH crap the kids are hungry whats for dinner?”

So I think it will really help me again this year. So that when 4pm does roll around, I will look at my happy little paper that I wrote down on Sunday, (if I haven’t lost it) and say “oh yeah today we are having Beef tenderloin on spring greens with a touch of lemon dressing” ha ha ya right more like Spaghetti, Meatloaf, and other fantastic classics like breakfast for dinner.

So maybe not a frugal tip today but a sanity saving one. I hope that the days of popcorn and canned fruit  for supper are over……..although that was actually a huge hit…?….

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in life, Organization, Tightwad Tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tightwad Tuesday Tip: Menu Planning

  1. Beth says:

    I menu plan 2 weeks at a time, the day before payday. I should keep a master list and go from there, but I don’t…. HHhmmmm..
    Also, I just write it on my calendar. I try to plan meals around the schedule for the day. So, busy days, I plan for a crockpot meal and so on.

  2. Christine says:

    Actually I think it is a frugal tip as well as sanity saving. I think we save money by making a menu plan and shopping list as long as you try to stick as close to the list as you can (there are always things you may have forgotten). Try it on the computer if you can, then you don’t lose it (until you lose the computer..or your mind, which I do occasionally)

  3. Susan Kelly says:

    Spontaneity is a virtue. Lack of meal planning teaches you to be resourceful. Meal planning is stifling, because what if we feel like having popcorn and canned fruit on the day that I had scheduled meatloaf? 😉

    • redneckliber says:

      I will reserve the right to change it up! There will be days I want peanut butter and Jam sandwiches instead of what is on the menu.

Leave a Reply

