Benefits of Being Financially Challenged

One of the many benefits of being financially challenged is you look at advertising in a whole new way. You really do. When simple items you used to be able to afford now become a luxury item. You know like, oh….. make up.

Advertising takes on a whole new paradigm. It really does and in some ways it is quite liberating. When I read an Avon catalog I just roll my eyes at the Makeup Bag “must haves”(maybe I am just bitter because they have a nice pair of boots out this fall that I LOVE)

An email we got today from Pay pal struck me as quite funny. They are telling me that a credit card I have registered with them is about to expire. A credit card I got rid of over 2 years ago, I guess I forgot to tell Paypal. Anyway…  this is the line that made me laugh a little belly chuckle this morning: “We wouldn’t want anything to stand in the way of your shopping progress”

Oh Paypal if you only knew….sigh.

I am looking at advertising in a whole new light. I kind of feel like a little kid being told what to do and it is making me a bit cross.  Buy this… buy that…feel good with this…feel good because you own that. I feel my little inner 2 year old standing her ground, and stomping her foot and yelling NO! YOU CAN’T TELL ME WHAT TO DO!!

Advertising is like a very mean parent telling you what you need to have to be happy then, if you are poor, won’t give it to you. Like you aren’t as good as the pretty daughter, or the athletic son. You, or rather I felt not good enough. It hurts, it hurts A LOT! Then you realize, oh heck I am fine or better off without it, then, and here is where it gets odd, you heal. You heal.

I wonder if I can get a thing put in the DSM called Advertising Hyper-Overload. Or maybe, as I don’t tend to read the DSM, there is one already.

I guess I am kind of becoming a minimalist by force, but I see the peace in it. I see the lack of want as being the ultimate peace. But yet I still want. How could I live in this culture and not want? Oh those Avon boots.

But I don’t NEED them I have 4 pairs of brown leather/suede boots already (yes very minimalist of me I know).

So perhaps I am in a transition phase of poverty.  I am realizing that I can go with out and still be happy.

But I still do, and always will, hate the blogs that pretend to be frugal and say stupid things like “Go on a Frugal Date for under $100” Give me strength. Someone should write a blog post entitled “Go on a lovely date with your spouse and only spend the change you found in today’s laundry” Seriously who doesn’t want to hear about that?

I remember the reason I stopped watching Oprah was when she did a “budget” shopping show and spent over $100 on ONE outfit at Target. Sorry Oprah but who’s budget were we shopping on that day? Not mine……

I am not bitter. I really hope the tone didn’t come across as such. But I feel empowered. I can be happy at this level of finances. I am grateful for that. I am grateful for the liberation from advertisement, I am grateful for the hope I feel, and I am grateful for the blessings I do have.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in gratitude, life, on my mind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Benefits of Being Financially Challenged

  1. I feel this way too, Peggy. Genuinely liberated from materialism. Sometimes I imagine having a new sofa rather than a thrift store job with the stuffing coming out in little foam pieces that stick to our backs on certain fabrics, that I will later find deposited in other rooms, but it isn’t a painful imagining.

    The blurb on the back of cleaning products (which I found out were a lot less healthy and no more effective than water about thirty years ago) is the funniest. How many different ways can you say, “This cleans” while pretending not to repeat yourself ? 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    Read the book called predictably irrational
    http://www.amazon.com/Predictably-Irrational-Hidden-Forces-Decisions/dp/006135323X
    It is excellent. Get it at your library.

  3. Karina says:

    I love, love, love this post. It is so real!!!

  4. Cat Charissage says:

    This is beautiful and profound. Liberating

  5. Susan Kelly says:

    Sounds like being liberated from materialism is pretty peaceful! Great post, Peggy!

  6. igneousidol says:

    I can relate to the $100 budget, that is almost my yearly clothing budget, not one outfit….I usually have luck at target with $2 shirts and $6 jeans, and a whole set of pjs for $2…..especially when they mark down the back to college home-goods 75% because they think if it says back to college, a normal shopper won’t buy it at full price…same sheets and shower curtains in different packaging

Leave a Reply

