And here we go again.

“Three Rules of Work: Out of clutter find simplicity; From discord find harmony; In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.” – Albert Einstein

So I am doing it. I have been mulling it over in my mind but it is such a huge commitment. But I am ready to take the plunge I am ready to commit. I am going to do one year of Flylady.  My house is very unorganized and very messy.

I always want to be organized and clutter free. I have even had times in my life when we are organized and clutter free but I have voices, the ones that tell you, you aren’t good enough. They are so negative, they say things like “You aren’t an organized person why are you doing this?” “You can clean it later it only a little mess”, or “Really! only good people are organized!”

I can actually remember one time when I was going along. I had my control journal all nice and organized. I hadn’t double booked myself, missed an appointment and all my library books were returned on time. Then one night I  heard this voice came into my head and it said “This is not you, you don’t deserve to be organized”. So I stopped, and have struggled to get back to that.

Here is the room I sit in now. My computer is in this room and I write in here. This is the blogging room.

Horrible I know!

And the desk I sit at.

So as you can see it is time to change. I honestly believe the voices will be the hardest part, and the cleaning will only be a byproduct.

So here it is:

I, Peggy AKA: Redneck Liber. Agree to live one year of Flylady Starting October 19 2011

I will start with the baby steps and work up from there.

If you would like to join me that would be great.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Organization, Year of Living Flylady and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And here we go again.

  1. Beth says:

    YAY! Peg, you DO deserve a clean/clutter free house. You can also use this time as a teaching tool for your children. They are all old enough to help and keep it going. I really, really, REALLY, wish I could come and visit for like a week and help you. I could honestly get you to a point where all you’d have to do is maintain. You can do this, you WILL do this. It is NOT out of your control. Seriously, PURGE. Like, EVERYTHING you don’t need. I do this a few times a year. If it’s not beautiful or useful, GET RID OF IT. Outgrown, stained, torn clothes, gone. Broken toys, ripped books, gone. Expired food, gone. Get it into garbage bags, and get it OUT.
    I love you Peggy. I want this for you. I KNOW it’s possible for you.

  2. Pingback: Fly Lady and Sidetracked Home Executives | Borders of Order

  3. Susan Kelly says:

    The only useful thing I’ve discovered about me and housekeeping is that if I don’t honor my creative self FIRST, housekeeping becomes an unbearable chore. (That doesn’t necessarily mean I have to do it first thing in the morning, just that it’s highest priority.) If I give myself enough time to write, doodle, be outside in nature, I don’t even notice that I’m washing dishes, because I’m thinking about the next bit to write, or something like that. And mindless tasks then become sort of meditative. The thought of bouncing out of bed and having cleaning the toilet as my number one goal makes me want to, well, you don’t want to know that.

    However, I am not living with six children. I did grow up in a large family and I do have unhappy, disorder-related memories, like the time my Brownie tie was lost for weeks.

  4. Susan Kelly says:

    I just want to say, Peggy, that I think that being creative is very important for you. You need it, just like you need food and exercise and love. Good luck with this! Maybe you can put it into the “control journal”: “Peggy’s sanity hour.”

  5. Pingback: Ponderings on the 15 minute Clean | Borders of Order

  6. Lisa says:

    You should make that into a bedroom.

Leave a Reply

