My year of living Flylday Update

So it is going well so far. I have been waking up and getting dressed to the shoes. I had been keeping my sink shiny until last night. I went out and had a girls night with some awesome friends. We laughed, we giggled, we solved the worlds problems, then I came home.

Apparently the idea of the shiny sink has not caught on with everyone else in the house, or the idea of non sticky counter tops and food being placed in the refrigerator.

So today I face my first realistic obstacle in the house cleaning dilemma, and that is called family. Usually I would give up and “say screw it I can’t beat them all”, “this is pointless” or “why even bother? I am outnumbered 7 – 1”.

So instead of living in a horrifically disorganized house or never leaving again, I need to come up with a plan. I can NOT go back, I have committed myself and it will happen!!

My plan consists of including them in the process. I know it sounds extremely simple and obvious but, we must remember, I am an organized person in training. I plan to print out all the baby steps for us all and making control journals for each of the kids as the steps come along. Teach them as I teach myself. A very simple yet complex thing to do.

Now the question I ask myself is……Is it wrong to make one for Hubby as well?

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in life, Organization, Year of Living Flylady and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My year of living Flylday Update

  1. Elisabeth Smith says:

    This is a real problem, Peggy. The biggest obstacle. Here’s what I do in case it helps.

    I take the physical rather than the mental approach and “pay them back” so they really get the message of how it feels and what it means to dump stuff. I relocate dumped items out of mine and into their space, even onto the person’s placemat on the dining room table, which means they don’t get served a meal until it’s put away, and with the children it has to be dealt with – properly – before they get fed. With the husband I just annoy him by shifting the stuff over to *his* places, and off *mine.*

    We need this kind of directness in our house. It’s a clear and immediate measure that keeps my patch under control. And, I claim by divine right, that mine is mine and yours is yours. So you can be as scruffy as you like – and totally ignore FlyLady and what I’m up to if you like – but not on my patch.

  2. Cat Charissage says:

    maybe ask him first? 🙂

  3. Soul Snippets says:

    I really admire what you’re doing!

  4. Pingback: Watching so I can Learn | Borders of Order

Leave a Reply

