The Power of 15 Minutes

Well I have been dressing to my shoes and shining my sink. I have even involved my kids in the sink shining and some of them love it and some of them roll their eyes at me. But whatever.

Today I started the 15 minute declutter. I set the timer and away I went. The only problem was I kept going after the timer went off.

I am going to say this is OK because, it is the getting started that is hard, and when we give ourselves permission to stop after 15 minutes it is easier to get started. I did not go for perfection. I only decluttered in the front entrance for 45 minutes. But I got rid of 2 garbage bags of garbage and a box full of donation stuff. So all in all it was a good day.

There were also bags of clothes dear friends have dropped off in that hall way so I finally went through it and got some cute stuff and got rid of the rest. Can I count bags of other people? If so I got rid of 3 big bags of clothes as well.

But that 15 minutes idea is powerful. Flylady says you can do anything for 15 minutes and she is right. I can do 15 minutes, and I did 15 minutes 3 times over today. I did make myself stop and I didn’t obsess over it. Which I think is part of my problem. I often think, if it can’t be perfect I am not even going to try, but today I did something!

You can get A LOT done in 15 minutes.

I often would put off a  job because I thought it would take forever. I would think to myself, “I don’t want to do that it will take ALL DAY!” whiny voice included, but now I am trying to say to myself “15 minutes but that’s it man!”

The power is in the 15 minutes!

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in on my mind, Organization, Year of Living Flylady and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Power of 15 Minutes

  1. Karina says:

    Flylady changed my life quite a few years ago. In 15 minutes a miracle can occur. Good for you Peggy. And thanks for sharing your success with us. I find it very inspirational.

    Karina

  2. Cat Charissage says:

    Yay! I remember reading in Flylady about how we put off mopping our kitchen floor b/c it will take too long: all day, or all afternoon, or at least two hours. One woman who thought so did it one day and timed herself: it was something like 4 1/2 minutes!

    We really can do a lot in 15 minutes. On bad days I alternate 15 minutes doing something, then 15 minutes resting. On worse days I do 15 minutes of something, 30-45 minutes of resting. Rome wasn’t built in a day. (Yes, but once the Coliseum was built, it stayed built, and is still there! Once I make dinner, it’s gone in 15 minutes. . . . )
    Cat

  3. Pingback: Conquering the Closet | Borders of Order

Leave a Reply

