Wonderbox Cooker

I made a wonderbox cooker. What is a wonderbox cooker you ask? Well it is an interesting thing that helps to finish cooking your food therefore using less energy and less fuel. You bring your food to a boil for a few minutes then place it in the Wonder box cooker to finish.

As you can see the pot fits in snugly, and the food is insulated for hours. I have used mine to make yogurt and oatmeal so far. I plan on using it for potatoes and rice in the future. One website said you can make bread in it. I wonder if I am that brave.

The lid goes on over the pot.

I would give you a fantastic tutorial on how I made one but honestly why reinvent the wheel? Here are a few Fantastic links of GREAT tutorials on how to make your own.

The great story of wonderbox cookers is that they were invented or thought of in South Africa in the 70’s to help women cook with little fuel by charity called Compassion.

Those sites also have links on where to buy one if you are a busy person or don’t feel you have the sewing skills necessary to make one. OR you could go here

They also keep food cold if you are going on a long trip or a day hike.

About redneckliber

I am finding joy in the journey of home schooling my 6 children. We have our faults and foibles just like everyone else, but we are trying to have a blast. I write about our life and whats on my mind. I hope you enjoy it.
This entry was posted in Etsy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

